• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Importing about 2.5 million rows of data from TXT file

Im_Offset

Hello everyone....

The title says it all. I have a text file with about 2.5 million rows of data. Obviously this is more than can be on one worksheet. The TXT file is so large, I cannot open in notepad to manually break the data up into smaller chunks.

I'm not very good at using power pivot, so I need help from the community here. I am using Excel 365.

I would be very grateful if some can explain to me how I can either:
1) import all the data across three different worksheets where I can then filter it and manually move data into different spreadsheets. Right now, I'm stuck at just being able to see the first 1,048,576 rows. How can I start a new import that starts on row 1,048,577 on a second worksheet and goes from there?
2) I have created a data model in power pivot with all of the rows. But I do not know how to create the pivot table in excel to show the data I want. I can use the initial filter and then select the data for rows, but then I cannot get it to show additional rows of data from the data set. How can I use power pivot to filter the data on one metric and then get all the data (Which is way less than 100,000 rows) into a workbook?

Thank you in advance, because obviously.
Im_Offset

Can't say with certainty but perhaps WORDPAD can handle the 2.5 million rows ? If not, you'll need to search the internet for another word processor than can. I ran into a similar issue a few years back and had to search the internet myself. I don't recall where I located software that
would work.